BUREAU NATIONAL :: National Office




Phone +237 678 30 00 03 


Description of the municipality

Bali Council is found in Mezam Division of the North West Region of Cameroon. The Bali Council area which entirely covers Bali sub division with a surface area of approximately 277.77 square kilometres is one of the seven administrative units that make up Mezam Division. Bali Town is situated about 20 km from Bamenda, the capital of the North West Region. Bali Town lies along the Bamenda-Mamfe highway. It is found on latitude 5.54 North of the equator and longitude 10 East of the Greenwich Meridian. Bali is bounded to the North by Chomba, Nsongwa, Mbatu and Mankon in Bamenda II Sub division; to the East by Pinyin, Baforchu and Baba II in Santa sub division; to the South by Njaitu, Osum, Ngemuwah, Guzang and Ashong in Batibo sub division and to the West by Ngembu and Bome in Mbengwi central sub division. The map below (Figure 3) shows the localisation of Bali sub division in Mezam Division of the North West Region.

Population size

According to the 2005 population census, Bali sub division was estimated to have a population of 30,375 inhabitants (14,410 males and 15,965 females) covering a surface area of 277.77 km2. Records from the Bali Council in line with the 2005 Monographic study report, project the population at 85058 inhabitants living in 7582 homes. Given the present growth rate of 2.6 % per annum, projections on the current population figures of the different villages in Bali sub division are presented in Table 3. The table also gives the population estimates based on the 1987 population projections. The population estimates of 2011 calculated on the basis of the 2005 monographic report are more reliable given that the current pupil and student enrolment in the various schools is above 10000.

Historical profile

The Bali Council was created in 1921 as Bani Native Authority, covering the present Bali Council area, the Santa tea estate right up to Baligham. By 1960, Bani native authority was granted the status of a council under Southern Cameroons law no. 74 of 1960 (caption 140-page 83/84) signed by M.N.H. Milne. The Headquarters of this council was in Bamenda because it was one of the three councils under the Bamenda division. The Bamenda division was made up of Bamenda, Ndop and Bali. From 1960 to 1966, the Municipal Administrator of the Bali council was HRH Fon Galega II. On August 26th 1966, Bali was made an administrative district and the government started appointing government officials as Municipal Administrators. The Bali administrative district was raised to the status of a sub division in 1979. Beginning from 1986, local elite were appointed as Mayors. By 1996, Mayors were elected. Bali council was granted a separate parliamentary constituency which it enjoyed till 1997, the year Bali and Santa constituencies were merged. Owing to the ever-increasing population of the municipality, from 1960 to date, the number of municipal councillors has risen from 25 to 35.

According to the national population census of 2005, the resident population of Bali municipality stood at 30,375 with an annual growth rate of 2.6%. Extrapolating from these statistics, the population of Bali municipality by 2011 should stand at 35,478 inhabitants. The head count done by the councillors in 2005 placed the population of the municipality at about 85,058. Projections from this head count with the national growth rate of 2.6 % put the population in 2011 at 89,491. This population served by the Bali council is made up of different ethnic groups: Chambas (Bali Nyongas); the Bamilekes (Bawocks); the Widikums, the Fulanis (Mbororos and Hausas) and the Bamumbuhs.